Contact Us

Use the form on the right to contact us.

You can edit the text in this area, and change where the contact form on the right submits to, by entering edit mode using the modes on the bottom right. 

Las vegas, NV

Motocross and Supercross Motorcycle Racing coverage worldwide

Race Results & Photos

2016 Motocross of Nations - Maggiora - Italy

Paul Iverson

Team France (Romain Febvre, Benoit Paturel, Gautier Paulin) are the 2016 Motocross of Nations Champion!


Frenchmen Benoit Paturel, Gautier Paulin, Romain Febvre : : 2016 FIM Motocross of Nations Champs

Frenchmen Benoit Paturel, Gautier Paulin, Romain Febvre : : 2016 FIM Motocross of Nations Champs

The annual Motocross of Nations - a gathering of the world's best motocross racers to compete for their country. Each country sends a 3 rider team - one rider in the MX GP class (450cc), one rider in the MX2 class (250cc), and one rider in the Open class (can be any size bike but most choose 450cc).

Sometimes referred to as The Olympics of Motocross, each team is striving to win the top prize - The Chamberlain Trophy.

Coming into the event, the defending Champions are France. Their riders will be Gautier Paulin, Romain Febvre, and Benoit Paturel. The US team will be Cooper Webb, Alex Martin, and Jason Anderson. Managed by 5-time World Motocross Champion Roger De Coster.

This year the event returns to the historic Maggiora Motocross Park, best known for the 1986 Motocross of Nations, featuring the USA Dream Team of Johnny O'Mara, Rick Johnson, and David Bailey.


On Saturday's Qualification Races, there is one for each class: MXGP, MX2, and OPEN.

World MX GP Champ Tim Gasser is not racing, a minor injury suffered during the week.

MXGP Qualifying Race - France’s Romain Febvre wins over Italy’s Tony Cairoli. American Cooper Webb 18th after a crash.

  1. Romain Febvre YAM
  2. Tony Cairoli KTM
  3. Kevin Strijbos SUZ
  4. Tommy Searle KAW
  5. Glenn Coldenhoff KTM
  6. Jose Butron KTM
  7. Todd Waters SUZ
  8. L. Neurauter KTM
  9. Akira Narita HON
  10. Kaven Benoit KTM
  11. Nikolaj Larsen KTM
  12. Cody Cooper HON
  13. Anton Gole HUS
  14. P. Ratsep HON
  15. D. Ivanovs YAM

Cooper Webb 18th.

MX2 Qualifying Race - Belgium’s Jeremy Van Horebeek wins, followed by Switzerland’s Jeremy Seewer. Team USA’s Alex Martin 9th.

  1. Jeremy Van Horebeek YAM
  2. Jeremy Seewer SUZ
  3. Benoit Paturel YAM
  4. J Garcia Prado KTM
  5. Brian Bogers KTM
  6. J. Natzke KTM
  7. S. Bernardini TM
  8. T. Kjer Olsen HUS
  9. Alex Martin YAM
  10. Tanel Leok KTM
  11. Alvin Ostlund YAM
  12. Max Anstie HUS
  13. V. Brylyakov KAW
  14. F. Neugebauer KAW
  15. M. Sihvonen KTM

Open Qualifying Race - Netherlands Jeffrey Herlings wins, followed by Gautier Paulin of Team France. Jason Anderson of the USA 14th after a crash.

  1. Jeffrey Herlings KTM
  2. Gautier Paulin HON
  3. Dean Ferris HUS
  4. Arnaud Tonus KAW
  5. Shaun Simpson KTM
  6. Evgeny Bobryshev HON
  7. Fredrik Noren HON
  8. Michele Cervellin HON
  9. A. Jasikonis SUZ
  10. K. Yamamoto HON
  11. Dennis Ulrich KTM
  12. B. Van doninck YAM
  13. Jorge Zaragoza HON
  14. Jason Anderson HUS
  15. P Rauchenecker HUS

Team France has qualified first for tomorrow's race with 3 points. Belgium is 2nd with 4 points, the Netherlands 3rd with 6 points. Team USA is 15th with 23 points.


First race of the day is the MXGP and MX2 classes combined. Romain Febvre (FRANCE), Tony Cairoli (ITALY), Kevin Strijbos (BELGIUM) Cooper Webb (USA), and Jeremy Van Horebeek (BELGIUM) were the top five finishers. Alex Martin (USA) was 9th.

Belgium with 8 points, USA with 13, France with 15, Italy with 18.

Second race is the MX2 with OPEN. High drama. Jason Anderson (USA) wins the race and as he crosses the checkered flag, arms raised in the air celebrating the victory, he is hit from behind by another rider. The brunt of the impact was mostly on Jason's head. It looked frightening.

The top five in moto 2 Jason Anderson, Jeffrey Herlings (NETHERLANDS) Gautier Paulin (FRANCE), Arnaud Tonus (SWITZERLAND), Dean Ferris (AUSTRALIA).

USA leads heading into the final moto of the day with 23 points. France 28, Switzerland 36, Netherlands 42.

Final race MXGP and OPEN. Jason Anderson will not be racing. He's been taken to the hospital. He's alert, but will be checked for concussion. Cooper Webb will be the only Team USA rider in this race.

The final scoring for Motocross of Nations is the 5 best finishes out of 6. So each team gets to take out the worst score. USA will not have that luxury, as Anderson is not able to race the final race. Cooper Webb will have to have the race of his life, and some luck, and the USA still has a possibility of winning.

It literally came down to the final few seconds of the last race. It was a battle between France, The Netherlands and USA. They cross the finish line in these positions: Jeffrey Herlings wins, Tony Cairoli 2nd, Kevin Strijbos, Romain Febvre, Tommy Searle (Great Britain), Evgeny Bobryshev (RUSSIA), Glenn Coldenhoff (NETHERLANDS), Arnaud Tonus, Jose Butron (SPAIN), and Cooper Webb 10th.

France (Romain Febvre, Benoit Paturel, Gautier Paulin) are the 2016 Motocross of Nations Champion - the third year in a row!

Jason Anderson was later quoted as saying: "My first race went well from the start. I got the holeshot and started pulling away. Midway through the race Herlings caught up and we had a good battle for a few laps until he fell. After that I was just coasting to the finish to get the win. I was very excited to cross the finish line first but right after that I felt another bike landing on me. Everything has been checked out and I’m going to be OK. It’s just a bummer that I couldn’t get back out there for the last moto to help Team USA battle for the win."

Final Results below

Photos :: Gautier Paulin 3, Romain Febvre 1, Jason Anderson, Benoit Paturel 2, Romain Febvre 1, Jason Anderson 6, Alex Martin 5, Cooper Webb 4, Jeffrey Herlings 18, Tony Cairoli 40, Romain Febvre 1, Jason Anderson 6, Cooper Webb 4, Alex Martin 5, Max Anstie 53, Gautier Paulin 3, Jeffrey Herlings 18


2016 Motocross of Nations Results

  1. France 29

  2. Netherlands 30

  3. USA 33

  4. Belgium 36

  5. Italy 44

  6. Switzerland 44

  7. Great Britain 73

  8. Australia 76

  9. Estonia 93

  10. Canada 95


For 2017, the Motocross of Nations returns to the USA. The event will be held at Glen Helen MX Park in southern California.